top of page
  • shsswritingcenter

Blogging as a Means of Self-Reflection — By Shane Ellis Coates

Updated: Nov 6, 2021


The potential that blogging has as a means of reflective practice is undeniable. The act of writing, in itself, requires us to actually think about what we are going to write and how we are going to write it . Add to that the assumption that someone, somewhere will read what we post and perhaps even respond to it makes it all the more important that we at least consider the ideas we put forward; and in so doing it sometimes happens that we experience new realizations about the things we believe or thought we knew, realizations that have the potential to change our perspectives and perhaps facilitate new learning, even new ways of thinking.


…Sometimes.


Just because a person blogs does not necessarily mean that she or he engages in reflective practice or critical contemplation of her or his beliefs (proponents of the alt-right, case in point). Furthermore, not everyone, including me, has the desire to become a blogger. But that does not mean that I forgo the opportunity to engage in the reflective practice blogging can facilitate; it just means that I enter the arena through the side entrance, i.e. the comments section, as a responder. And the outcomes, in my opinion, are equally as valuable.


For me, the best instigators (let's call them "triggers") of critical thought and reflection often come in the form of things said or written by others: a point of contention, an opinion I disagree with, a perceived inaccuracy, a fallacy presented as fact. All these things can provoke a reaction that, if handled properly, can be more conductive to self-reflection and critical thought than any natural impulse I might have to sit down and express my thoughts on a given subject – i.e. I am not just offering my point of view, I am entering into a debate, I need to plan my strategy, devise an argument that will force the opponent to concede my point.


Within that process, several outcomes, some ironic, all worth experiencing, may occur. More often than not, my inclination is to review my own knowledge and understanding of the given issue before I respond to points made by a second party (to reduce the likelihood of making a complete ass of myself). This usually entails some impromptu research, additional reading mostly, to establish a basis for my argument. Once satisfied that I have created an airtight response, I post it to the comments section and look forward to the “discussion” that might follow.


However (and here’s the fun part), the process of formulating, organizing, and preparing to share my views on a given issue can produce unanticipated outcomes. Sometimes, while exploring a topic, while analyzing opposing viewpoints to find the chinks in the armor, I uncover the fallacies of my own ideas and perspective. Suddenly, the point I had wanted to make no longer represents what I now believe or consider as fact. I have defeated my own purpose. I have changed.


The irony is not lost on me, but in my opinion, these are the best experiences in terms of personal growth and development. Rather than merely reaffirming or reiterating a previously held belief, I emerge from an introspective process with a new point of view and a new direction, ideologically speaking. The process of reacting and responding to blog posts (or Web forum articles or comments regarding either) forces me to consider other points of view as well as my own, exposing me to the inherent possibilities of both and, more importantly, the possibility that I might be wrong. In my opinion, that is what real reflective practice should comprise.



20 views0 comments
bottom of page